Lap Rap with some Jap Crap! :D

I had done these events before, but this was my first as a photoguy….

No Challange!
No Challange!

Viynl Tops Rock.
Viynl Tops Rock.

Started as a foggy morning at McDonalds. The breakfast of Champions and headache lovers, also “were out of ice for the iced coffee” which is a fail. Freezing water into cubes is difficult.

3 mary brown

I thought this was peculiar, like a 92 Explorer with a viynl wrap of Mary Browns Chicken. Not only did they wrap over some of the badges, but the wrap was worth more than the car it was on.

I had a big conversation with a passing motorist in this parking lot. He stopped to ask about the car. “It’s not one of those drifting things is it?”. We got to talking and he was a nice guy, although that was worded a bit awkward he didn’t mean it in a rude way. “I don’t get it, if the guy in front passes the finish line first, why did the other guy win”. We went on to talk about Japan, his business and describing the art and life style of drift. It’s all about the drivers skill. “I’ll have to watch a bit more of it now” he said before I had to go. Glad another convert is in the making.

5 drivers meeting

The day started out with the drivers meeting, some flag waving and ass scratching.

Built with love, Driven with hate.
Built with love

This 323 is badass. Not only does the owner (Ack I always forget names) run flag for the lapping day, but he built this BP powered 323 with bits and pieces from other cars and runs 4th in Ontario in CSCS Time Attack!

7 bad ass 323 2

Grip Missiles? It’s an Ontario thang.

returning to the earth
returning to the earth

I double took, taked? when I saw this roof. I thought the car had got lost in some Quick sand.

Subarist!
Subarist!

I’m not really sure whether to be offended or not? I love decals.

Tiny and quick
Tiny and quick

There is a lot of guys running these Echo’s at different events. Japan even had a series for the Turbo Vitz models.

12 spin out in back

Evo 10’s are quick cars! I was looking through my photos and noticed someone spinning out in the backround. PUSH HARDER!

13 everybody helping

It was nice to see friends and mates all working together to get things ready for the track. Good team work is always fun.

baller grass donuts
baller grass donuts

Last time we were out at DDT at Mosport, someone was doing donuts in the grass with und Audi R8…..

15 quick tt

I’ve never liked the look of the TT’s, they always just reminded me of new gen beetles. This one however, was damn quick, his lines were crisp and clean!

16 82 supppps

Phil, doing the rounds. Phil story from last night:
We almost ran into a van that was stopped at a green light playing with his cell phone, we navigated around him. Then pulled into a gas station, as we rounded the pump, the same van almost smoked us as he flew in to the station, again on his phone. Phil then yelled at him when he got out of his van “You should spend less time on your phone and pay attention to the road idiot!” and the guy yelled back “you spend less time on YOUR phone” lol

17 using the track

Just like on the highway the BMW drivers are a bit cocky and aggressive. lol Not to worry though, it’s expected.

18 mrtwo

Pretty rad MR2, clean, not a fan of the yellow, but well put together. Owner was a neat guy as well, though I didn’t get his name, he came out with a fellow named Martin.

Ready to go! let me on!
Ready to go! let me on!

Some nice rides out that day, nothing over the top, but a wide variety, minus all the RSX’s!

20 zooming 944

I like to see people bring their cars to the track. There was one particular RSX that had an amazing motor in it, very rad and well built car, but I refuse to put a photo up because he didn’t even attempt to lap it.

21 squeely

What did I say about BMW’s!!!! He slid this corner every time, silly guy!

soooooo many RSX's!
soooooo many RSX's!

This post can’t go without one RSX. I particularily liked the look of this one. Others had more aggressive wheel fitment and stance, but this one looked well rounded and functional. Am I crazy?

23 pedobear

Maybe it’s just because I identify with pedophiles. Not really, but pedo bear is a rad dude and he doesn’t afraid of anything.

24 track feel

This image is exactly how the track day felt. Little over cast, warm breeze, relaxed atmosphere, and good socializing around some different cars. Taking breaks for a cool drink and chat between sessions.

25 murder

Shit’s murdered out dawg. More hanging and chatting, letting the car cool down after a few runs. Good times!

one of two flat bed riders
one of two flat bed riders

Seems like Turbo Miatas like to have a lift home. Lesson is, N/A or bust…literally.

Favorite car this summer
Favorite car this summer

I freaked out as soon as I saw this bad boy roll in. I gave the owner an awkward “Rad car!” but he didn’t understand the LEVEL of my bromance with his ride. (thanks Nitin, now that word is stuck in my brain). Beat to fuck, Grip Missile. Ontario yo.

no, you eat mine.
no, you eat mine.

Magic, just fucking magic.

29 exotica

What a nice segway into a car from the only manufacturer I can think of that has a strong focus on power to weight ratio from the weight perspective…*cough* R35 *cough*.

...VS Grave Digger!
...VS Grave Digger!

4×4 Battle of DOOMMMMM

31 flames

So I criticized the RSX for not going out, but neither did the M3 or this 57 Bel-Air. I’m a hypocrite, but I also run the blog. The show The show The show The show The show The show The show The show The show is mine, suck it.

32 happy

ohhhhh, so happppyyyy.

33 hella tight

Did these come factory, as they seem popular with the wwweeerrkkzzzzz crowd.

two of two flatbed wrassslers
two of two flatbed wrassslers

Yet another Tarrbo Miata to come to the demise of the elevation changing DDT.

35 going home

The day drew on, people finished lapping. Packed their shit and went home. Yes, that is a moose decal on that Volvo.

more murder
more murder

I forget names way to easily. But this dude was pretty rad, reminded me of a BMXer I used to know? He’s got 5 NX’s!!! Rare hardtop FTW.

37 kevin and phil

Kevin and Phil having a post game chat.

38 sexyiata

I labeled this photo: Sexiata on my computer. I think it was an appropriate name? Or does that make me gay? Also, more questions, aren’t MX3’s and MX6’s gayer than MX5’s?? <-double question mark for seriousness.

39 ride home

Jap Crap, some peoples rides home on flatbeds were not as smooth as some might think. Sadly this operator wasn’t as patient or understanding as some are. Some body kits gots scrapped and wrecked in the process.

40 ride home failures

Well, that’s it for this post. Nothing witty or intelligent, just a lazy report on a lazy day.
Thanks for reading!

41 photoguy

One thought on “Lap Rap with some Jap Crap! :D

Leave a comment